1986 Toyota Corolla

The change to International Group regulations in 1985 saw Toyota Team Australia enter Corollas in the Australian Touring Car Championship series and the annual 1000km race at Bathurst. Corolla won its class in both the Touring Car series and the Bathurst event in 1985 with John Smith as lead driver. Corolla went on to win its class at Mount Panorama for the next five years and its class in the National Touring Car Championship in three of those years.

In the 1986 James Hardie 1000 the 1986 Toyota Corolla, driven by Mike Quinn and John Faulkner, won Class A (up to 2000cc) and came 19th overall.

During practice, however, while Quinn was driving, the car had sustained a heavy accident . The car was successfully repaired by the TAFE crew and went on to win by two clear laps.

The Corolla competed in the 1987 season driven by Quinn, again ended up in an accident on Mount Panorama. Seconds later, Price in the lead Corolla, followed him into the wall at Castrol Curve putting both Team Toyota Corollas out of the race.

National Motor Racing Museum collection